Last Updated: Jan 18, 2017
Click on video twice for full size.
Do you know the difference between scholarly and popular articles?
This quick YouTube video:
Scholarly vs. Popular
teaches you about "clues" for telling if an article is scholarly.
- BioOne (On Campus Link)
"BioOne provides a unique aggregation of high-impact bioscience research journals, featuring timely content on a wide-array of today’s most pressing topics, including global warming, stem cell research, ecological and biodiversity conservation. "
- BioOne(Off Campus Link)
- User Guides & Tutorials for BioOne
Short tutorials available to help you improve your search results in BioOne.
LSSU subscribes to JSTOR collections I - VII. JSTOR contains digitized full text of many academic journals The availability of most journals on JSTOR is controlled by a "moving wall," which is an agreed-upon delay between the current volume of the journal and the latest volume available on JSTOR. This time period is specified by agreement between JSTOR and the publisher and is usually 3–5 years
- Google Scholar
Search for scholarly materials such as scholarly articles, books, research reports, theses, working papers, and cited sources.
When using Google Scholar from home be sure to create library links by updating your settings to synchronize with Lake Superior State University. Any questions as your librarian.
- Science Journals (Proquest)
This database is a definitive resource for students studying both the applied and general sciences. With coverage dating back to 1986, ProQuest Science Journals features over 1030 titles, with more than 760 available in full text.
- General Science Abstracts
Subject coverage includes astronomy, biology, botany, chemistry, conservation, health & medicine, oceanography, physics, zoology and more. Indexing and abstracting of 300 periodicals as far back as 1984.
- Biological and Agricultural Index Plus
This resource provides full text of articles from over 100 journals dating back to 1997, as well as indexing and abstracts of more than 380 publications. Subject coverage includes agriculture & agricultural research, atmospheric science, biochemistry, biology, biotechnology, botany, chemistry, environmental science, geology, marine biology microbiology, physics and much more.
PubMed comprises more than 24 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals , and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
MedlinePlus is the National Institutes of Health's Web site for patients and their families and friends. Produced by the National Library of Medicine, it brings you information about diseases, conditions, and wellness issues in language you can understand. MedlinePlus offers reliable, up-to-date health information, anytime, anywhere, for free.
Your resource for searching databases on toxicology, hazardous chemicals, environmental health, and toxic releases
- Cornell Lab of Ornithology - All about Birds
- Academic OneFile
"Academic OneFile is the premier source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources. With extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects."
- Agriculture Collection
Provides broad coverage of agriculture and its related fields. Includes nearly 200 titles of current and authoritative content that spans the industry -- from practical aspects of farming to cutting edge scientific research in horticulture.
- Environmental Studies and Policy Collection
Provides coverage of the field of environmental issues and policy, including nearly 200 journals.
- Gardening, Landscape and Horticulture collection
This collection includes content relating to both the practical aspects as well as the scientific theory of horticulture studies.
- General Science Collection Infotrac
A collection of over 1,000 peer-reviewed journals, providing researchers with the information needed to stay current on the latest scientific developments.
Find books & articles on all Business topics.
Use tabs across the top for more info.